Retrieve Account Information

PPC Awards

Over and over again PPC's members prove their operational and innovation excellence. But occasionally, an individual's contribution rises so far above the norm that it cannot help but be recognized. To inspire continued greatness in those who have made our industry their life-long home, PPC has created the following awards.

Named for the man whose ingenuity and innovation gave birth to the modern folding carton industry, the Robert T. Gair Award is reserved for individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of significant and lasting contributions to the paperboard packaging industry.

Past Winners

 2012  A. Newth Morris III      Dixie Printing & Packaging, Inc. (retired)
 2011  James Hodges  Royal Paper Box
 2009  Mark Graham     Bell Incorporated   
 2005  F. Scott Macfarlane  Smurfit-Stone Container Corp.
 2003  George L. Howell  F.M. Howell Co.
 2002  Joseph Hart  Smurfit-Stone Container Corp.
 2001  Chad E. Hoyme    Corson Manufacturing Co, Inc.    
 2000  J. Edward Woods  Gulf States Paper Corp.
 1999  Jack Williams    Green Bay Packaging  
 1998  Jack D. Tovin  Container Corporation of America  
 1997  Bradley Currey Jr.  Rock-Tenn Co.
 1995  Jack T. Lengsfield Sr.   Lengsfield Brothers   
 1993  Eugene U. Frey  Waldorf Corporation 
 1992  Henry S. Levkoff  The Standard Group
 1990  Judd H. Alexander  James River Corporation
 1989  A. Worley Brown  Rock-Tenn Co.
 1989  Richard S. Longnecker  James River Corporation
 1988  Robert C. Neff  Neff Packaging Solutions

About Robert T. Gair  
In 1864, Robert T. Gair began work as a paper merchant, printer, and manufacturer of paper and paperboard specialties in Brooklyn, N.Y. Early on, he started making folding boxes by scoring the box blanks individually and cutting the flaps by piling 10 or 20 at a time and using a guillotine style knife. In 1879, while examining a seed envelope job which had gone wrong during production in his plant, he saw that the difficulty was due to the fact that the type or printing plates had cut through the paper. He surmised that replacing type or printing plates with rules or knives, the press could then be used for cutting and creasing folding box blanks. And with that, Gair laid the foundation for today’s folding carton industry.
                          Adapted from Paperboard and Paperboard Containers:  A History by Harry J. Bettendorf.

Nomination Requirements
This singular honor is only awarded when there is a candidate of sufficient merit, one with a lifetime of achievement in the paperboard industry. To be eligible, a candidate must have made consistently outstanding contributions to the paperboard industry (such as developed new products, processes, applications, or markets; led trade groups; acted as an industry spokesperson; pioneered new technology, etc), PPC (such as served on committees and Boards, participated in programs, etc), and the nominee’s company and community (such as made contributions to company growth, served the community as good corporate citizen, promoted a healthy work environment, etc).

Nominations must be made by National Voting Representatives of PPC member companies and signed by the PPC National Voting Representative. Nominations will be reviewed and recommendation made by the Executive Committee to the Board of Directors and the award recipient shall be determined by vote of the Board of Directors.

Download the Robert T. Gair Nomination Form (pdf)

Created in 2009, this recognition honors an association member or retiree who exemplifies outstanding commitment to PPC through his or her volunteer efforts to promote the goals of PPC.

Nomination Requirements
To be considered for the award, an individual must:

  • Be an active volunteer in PPC (includes members and retirees, principal, and associate members).
  • Demonstrate an outstanding commitment to PPC through the contribution of time and talent.
  • Recognize the importance of PPC’s mission, brand, and image and whose interest and loyalty are evident.     

The award must be given to an active volunteer in the previous fiscal year, but the Executive Committee may consider the cumulative efforts of the individual over time when deciding who the recipient will be. While it is intended that the Volunteer Leader Award be given annually, it will not be awarded unless a worthy candidate is available.

The time frame for eligibility will be the most recently ended fiscal year. For instance, the honor awarded at Fall Meeting 2014 will encompass volunteer work performed in fiscal year 2013, ending December 31, 2013.

While it is intended that the award be given annually, it will not be awarded unless a worthy candidate is available.Any PPC member or staff member may submit a nomination to the Executive Committee at any time. The PPC Chair and Executive Committee chooses recipients from individuals who served the association.

Deadline for nomination is January 1, 2014. Please email Ben Markens with your nomination at ben@paperbox.org.

2010 recipient: Richard E. DePaul
2009 recipient: Richard O. Garber

Given to PPC members for the high number of hours worked in any given year without incurring an OSHA-recordable injury, these awards are cumulative so it possible for a company to win an award in numerous categories. The top award given out each year is the Chairman’s Safety Award, which is given to the company that finishes the year with the most hours worked without an OSHA recordable injury.

Chairman’s Safety Award Winners

2013: Graphic Packaging Int'l, Elk Grove Village, IL • 1,044,979 hours without injury
2012: AGI-Shorewood, Danville, VA • 1,134,798 hours without injury
2011: AGI-Shorewood, Danville, VA • 919,330 hours without injury
Menasha Packaging, Neehah, WI • 477,722 hours without injury
2009: Warneke Paper Box Co., Denver, CO • 381,903 hours without injury

2013 Award Winners 

Advance Paper Box Graphic Packaging International
Artistic Carton Co.
Imperial Packaging

ASG Innomark Packaging Solutions

Bert-Co Industries MeadWestvaco Corporation
Boehmer Box
Menasha Packaging
CardPak, Inc.
PaperWorks Industries

Cascades Boxboard Group
Rose City Printing & Packaging

Diamond Packaging
Southern Champion Tray

Ellis Packaging West
Tap Packaging Solutions

F.M. Howell and Co.
Winston Packaging

Frankston Packaging  Zumbiel Packaging  

The Service Award honors those members who have gone above and beyond the call to serve the association and its mission.

2010 Recipient: Ann Piper, President, Joe Piper, Inc.